Faculty Research & Creative Writing Awards

Cristina Bacchilega

2017: LLL (College of Languages, Linguistics, and Literature) Senior Faculty Excellence in Scholarship & Research Award, UHM.

2016: Distinguished Scholarship Award, International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts (IAFA).

2016: Fulbright Teaching/Research Award to Italy.

2008: Ka Palapala Po‘okela Award for Excellence in “Aloha from Beyond Hawai‘i” [for books published outside of Hawai‘i]. Hawai‘i Book Publishers Association.

2007: Chicago Folklore Prize.

2001: John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, Fellowship Recipient.

1989: NEH Summer Stipend.


Cynthia Franklin

2013: Fellowship to attend the Palestinian American Research Center (PARC) Faculty Development Seminar in Jerusalem and the West Bank


Derrick Higginbotham

2013: A. W. Mellon Young Scholars Award, University of Cape Town

2013: A.W. Mellon Visiting Fellows Award, University of Cape Town, 2013


Craig Howes

1994: Elliott P. Cades Award for Literature,


ku‘ualoha ho‘omanawanui

2017: Honorable mention, Native American Cultures, Literatures, and Languages award for Voices of Fire, Reweaving the Literary Lei of Pele and Hiʻiaka. Modern Language Association (MLA).

2009-10: Mellon Hawai‘i Post-Doctoral Fellowship.


Paul Lyons

 2015: (with Ty Kawika Tengan, Ethnic Studies) Council of Editors for Learned Journals Award for Best Special Issue for the “Pacific Currents” issue of American Quarterly


Georganne Nordstrom

2012: Richard Braddock Memorial Award for Best Article in College Composition and Communication for “Ma ka Hana ka ʻIke (In the Work is the Knowledge): Kaona as Rhetorical Action.”

2018-19: Fulbright Teaching/Research Award to the University of Galway, Ireland.


Gary Pak

2017: Ah Quon McElrath Fund for Political and Social Justice Grant, “Preserving the Oral Histories of the Kalama Valley Struggle”

2017: Nomination to the United States Artist fellowship

2006: Association for Asian American Studies, National Book Award for Literature, runner-up

2005: Nomination to the After Columbus Prize

2005: Nomination to the PEN-Faulkner Award

2005: Association of Book Publishers of Hawai‘i Po‘okela Book Award, Merit Award

2004: Nomination to the Kuriyama Book Prize

2003: Seoul Metropolitan City 2nd Annual Essay Contest, Bronze Award, “You Need to Go to Korea”

2002: Fulbright Senior Scholar Fellowship, Korea University, Seoul


Darin Payne

2000: Best Paper in the Humanities, National Symposium on New Information Technologies and Liberal Education


Craig Santos Perez

 2017: Elliot Cades Award for an Established Artist, Hawaiʻi Literary Arts Council

2016: Lannan Foundation Literary Fellowship, Poetry.

2016: Rattle Magazine Poetry Prize, Finalist.

2015: American Book Award, Before Columbus Foundation, Winner.

2011: PEN Center USA/Poetry Society of America Literary Prize (Poetry), Winner.

2011: Los Angeles Times Book Prize (Poetry), Finalist.


John Rieder

2011: Science Fiction Research Association’s Pioneer Award for Best Essay of 2010

1987: American Council of Learned Societies Grant‑in‑Aid


Shawna Yang Ryan

2017: Asian American Studies Association Best Book Award: Fiction

2017: American Book Award

2016: First selection of the Penguin Random House International One World One Book program

Boston Globe Pick of the Week

New York Post Must-Read Book of the Week

Amazon Best Book of the Month (February)

Indie Next March Pick

Seattle Public Library “Top 5 Summer Books for Adults”

First Draft Book Club March Pick (The Arizona Republic)

The Bookshop by Orell Fussli March Pick of the Month (Switzerland)

The Straits Times bestseller (Singapore)

Morgan Smith’s Weekend Reads pick (Australia)

“Winter Reads” The Denizen (New Zealand)

2015:   Elliot Cades Award for Literature (Emerging Writer Award)

2014:   Nomination, The Pushcart Prize: Best of the Small Presses

2010:    Fiction Long List, Asian American Literary Award

TaiwaneseAmerican.org’s “100 Passionate People”

First Saturday Book Club Pick, Books Inc.

Recommended Book, Adult Summer Reading Program, San Francisco Public Library

2008:    Fiction Finalist, Northern California Book Awards

2002:    Fulbright Scholar, Taiwan


Todd Sammons

1983: Fellow, National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Seminar for College Teachers


Susan Schultz

2015 Elliott Cades Award for Literature


S. Shankar

2017-18: Senior Fulbright-Nehru Fellowship (India)

2013: Honorable Mention for Flesh and Fish Blood, Rene Wellek Prize Committee of the American Comparative Literature Association.


Cynthia Ward

1993-94: National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship for University Teachers


Valerie Wayne

2017: NEH Research Seminar at the Huntington Library on “The Formation and Re-formation of the Book”

2014: Bogliasco Foundation Residential Fellowship in Bogliasco, Italy (nomination by the Shakespeare Association of America)

2012:  Folger Shakespeare Library, Short Term Fellowship

2011:  Elizabeth Dietz Award for the Best Work in Early Modern Studies to the editors of Thomas Middleton: The Collected Works

2009:  MLA’s Distinguished Scholarly Edition award to the editors of Thomas Middleton: The Collected Works

2003: Charlton Hinman Long Term Fellowship at the Folger Shakespeare Library

1992:  NEH Summer Stipend

1988:  Folger Institute Center for Shakespeare Studies, Grant-in-Aid

1982:  Huntington Library, Short Term Fellowship


John Zuern

2001: Ellen Nold Award for Best Article in the journal Computers and Composition for “Community Service Learning and Computer-Mediated Advanced Composition: The Going to Class, Getting Online, and Giving Back Project” (with Alison Regan).